Mass Service Disruptions

What is a mass service disruption?

A mass service disruption (MSD) is where mass outages have occurred due to extreme weather conditions or other factors beyond our control. In these situations, mass outages of services may occur and we may not be able to meet timeframes for connecting a service or repairing a fault on your line.

What are considered extreme weather conditions?

Where a provider is claiming an exemption from a performance standard as a result of extreme weather conditions in an area, it must include evidence in writing that these conditions meet one or more of the criteria of extreme weather conditions specified in Schedule 3 of the CSG Standard. These include:

  • large hail
  • heavy rainfall
  • flash floods
  • hazardous winds
  • lightning
  • blizzards
  • tornados
  • unusually large surf waves
  • storm tides
  • cyclones

More detailed definitions of these extreme weather conditions are included in Schedule 3 of the CSG Standard; however, they broadly align with conditions where the Bureau of Meteorology will issue a severe weather warning.

Public Notices

20190917-NSW-E-C-I-SYDNEY METROPOLITAN

Start Date End Date Location Disruption Details
Tuesday 17 September 2019 Thursday 10 September 2019 Sydney Metropolitan District Severe storms with heavy rainfall

20190917-NSW-E-C-I-SYDNEY METROPOLITAN

Start Date End Date Location Disruption Details
Tuesday 17 September 2019 Monday 30 September 2019 Sydney Metropolitan District Severe storms with heavy rainfall

20190904-NSW-E-F-I-REDFERN

Start Date End Date Location Disruption Details
Wednesday 04 September 2019 Monday 16 September 2019 Redfern area Damaged by third parties

20190830-NSW-E-C-I-SYDNEY AND SURROUNDING DISTRICT

Start Date End Date Location Disruption Details
Friday 30 August 2019 Tuesday 10 September 2019 Parts of the Sydney Metropolitan District of NSW Severe storms with very heavy rainfall

20190809-SA-S-A-I-BOWHILL - Buroserv

Start Date End Date Location Disruption Details
Friday 09 August 2019 Thursday 15 August 2019 Within the Bowhill exchange area Delays in installation and repair activities

20190717-NSW-E-F-P-SYDNEY METROPOLITAN -EXTENDED

Start Date End Date Location Disruption Details
Wednesday 17 July 2019 Sunday 18 August 2019 Sydney Metropolitan Area Delay due to criminal damage

20190717-NSW-E-F-P-SYDNEY METROPOLITAN

Start Date End Date Location Disruption Details
Wednesday 17 July 2019 Sunday 04 August 2019 Sydney Metropolitan Area Criminal Damage

20190604-NSW-E-C-P-SYDNEY METROPOLITAN AND SURROUNDING AREA

Start Date End Date Location Disruption Details
Tuesday 04 June 2019 Sunday 14 July 2019 Sydney Metropolitan District and part of the Central Tablelands District of New South Wales Severe Weather Events

20190612-SA-S-C-I-ADELAIDE AND SURROUNDING AREA

Start Date End Date Location Disruption Details
Wednesday 12 June 2019 Monday 01 July 2019 Adelaide and over part of the surrounding Mount Lofty Ranges of SA Severe Storms

20181008-QLD-E-C-P-SOUTH BURNETT AND SURROUNDING DISTRICTS

Start Date End Date Location Disruption Details
Sunday 07 October 2018 Monday 08 October 2018 Parts of Wide Bay and Burnett, and Southeast Coast Districts of Queensland Severe Weather Condition